Part 1 of “The Opening Five”

WHAT THE??

I know what you’re thinking. If you are a student of the English language I am sure your first reaction is “That header is spelled wrong!” It isn’t.  OK, if it’s not spelled wrong then what does it mean? Where does it come from? It’s a word that just popped into my head on March 10, 2011 when I was reflecting on what to call this blog. I was going through all of the questions one might ask him/herself in this endeavor.

  • What is the blog about?
  • What experience am I planning to share here?
  • Can I name a blog “things that I am working on to get my life to a place that I love.com? (I think we all know the answer to that one)
  • What am I trying to do to my life? Refurbish it! No, that’s too common. I guess it’s not for ME
  • Hey that’s it! MEfurbish! I am refurbishing ME.

Let’s go ahead and define it for the record. According to dictionary.com, refurbish is defined as the following:

[ree-fur-bish] –Verb (used with object)

  1. to furbish again; renovate; brighten: to refurbish the lobby.
  2. to make neat, clean, or complete, as by renovating, re-equipping, or restoring

If I was to define MEfurbish with formality then we could say:

[mee-fur-bish] –Verb (used with object)

  1. to furbish a person again; a quest for self improvement; to brighten one’s life: to MEfurbish the being.
  2. to make body and mind joyful, clean, or complete, as by renovating, re-equipping, or restoring by any means necessary

So that’s it! This blog is about my own MEfurbishment. For a multitude of reasons, I am a 40 year-old single dad who is starting over. For a long time I looked at this as the bane of my existence. Today, I choose to look at it as an opportunity; an opportunity to do some things differently, to change my priorities and to “make my body and mind joyful, clean and complete…by any means necessary.”

The other thing that comes to mind is that I don’t need to be perfect. I don’t need to try to be perfect, and I don’t need to strive to achieve what other peoples version of a great life is. This is where the ME comes from in MEfurbish. I only need to do what’s right for ME.

It’s quite a concept; I hope you will join ME on the journey.

Peace

Leslie

Leave a Reply

