Part 4 of “The Opening Five”

What’s a personal Mission Statement? 

 

With our list of values in hand we are one step closer to a vision of the things we might want to manifest in our lives. I say might because it is very possible that we have already placed a great deal of focus on certain values that are important to us and we are already manifesting these things in our lives.  For example, I feel I can say that I do a pretty good job already with loyalty. I have always been very loyal to employers and consider myself fiercely loyal to my friends and family. Does this mean that I have no room for improvement in this area? Of course not. It just means that when I am taking action towards my vision for myself, this can fall lower on the “to do” list so to speak.

In order to be crystal clear about what I want to bring into our life, I believe it will be helpful to have a personal mission statement. Entrepreneur.com defines a mission statement as the following: “A mission statement defines what an organization is, why it exists, its reason for being.” Using this guideline then we could say that a personal mission statement defines what we are, why we exist, and our reason for being.” Oh, just that. It sounds so simple when you put it that way, right? Not at all.

Perhaps an example would be helpful.  I started to research a variety of large companies just to see what the framework of an acceptable mission statement might be. The end result was that, in reality, any mission statement is an acceptable mission statement.  I read ones that ranged from one sentence of five words to eight paragraphs! Remembering that one of my values is simplicity, I decided that for me one sentence would be a better beacon of where I was going. One sentence is something I could pin up on my bulletin board, or turn into a little mantra.

Trying to encapsulate at least the spirit of most, if not all, of my values I came up with the statement below. It resonates with me. Yours should resonate with YOU, and only you. We’re almost ready to start kicking butt and taking names! Stay with me for the ride of your dreams.

Peace,

Leslie

Leave a Reply

