The Lengths I Will Go To – Meursault

Music and Me

Anyone who knows me even remotely knows that Music is a huge part of my life. I would like to learn a few instruments with enough skill to be able to jam with friends and have campfire sing-along’s and that kind of thing. While I hope to take some more serious steps involving music in the near future in my MEfurbishment, today I need to get my musical fix in a more accessible way. I don’t want to be a rock star, or a star of any kind for that matter.

I have, what I would call, a spiritual connection to Music. (Notice that I capitalize the word reverently!) I am not talking about transcendental departures or blissful awakenings; though I have had moments close to what some might call these things while experiencing great music. I am referring to enjoying something so much that life’s challenges somehow seem diminished and for a short time, you feel a semblance of joy or happiness that often eludes us in our day. You feel connected to something bigger than yourself.

All Creatures Will Make Merry

Those of you that are music junkies know exactly what I am talking about. Those of you who are confused right now, just turn off any distractions that you currently have happening, put on some good headphones and check out the video below.

I recently stumbled across Meursault while having coffee with a friend in an eclectic and funky coffee shop in Ottawa called Raw Sugar Café. I was focused on my friend, but my spidey senses were tingling about what was lilting out of the speaker system as well. Finally I couldn’t resist any longer and asked the Barista who we were listening to. She told me and I made “mental note”. Me making a mental note is as good as putting my to-do list through a paper shredder before I start on it. Upon arriving home I spent about 20 minutes Google-ing words and fragments that were bouncing around in my melon. Finally I looked up the phone number to Raw Sugar Café and called there in a panic. Of course the staff had turned over by that point and I had to explain in detail (fragments) what I recalled about the music and that no, this was not some sort of weird prank. In the end, the Barista found what I was looking for and I have been a huge fan of Meursault and Raw Sugar Café since.

This video is a live documentary version of One Day This’ll All Be Fields from the CD All Creatures Will Make Merry. I LOVE this CD!

Enjoy!

Peace,

Leslie

Leave a Reply

