Guitar Here I Come

Thanks Universe

Putting goals out into the universe has come through again! On the weekend I posted about my love of music and shared that it is my goal to learn to play several of my favorite instruments. There are a few instruments that I am drawn to and each of them is pretty far apart from each other on the musical spectrum.

I have always had an affinity to percussion. When I was growing up my idol was Neil Peart of Rush. In recent months I have decided that it doesn’t have to be an all or nothing thing. There are in fact other ways of exploring percussion that don’t involve a 35 piece cherry red drum kit. I have decided to take up the Djembe when the opportunity presents itself. This is something that is portable, affordable, and more community oriented. A local African dance and drumming school offers group classes and there are many drumming circles that are throughout the city to explore. I’ll post more about that once I take some MEsteps in that direction. I also have a great deal of interest in learning the Bansuri. The Bansuri is an Indian flute that I find absolutely magnificent.

Guitar is perhaps the instrument that I am most motivated to take up at the moment. When I was celebrating Earth Evening with friends this weekend I mentioned to them that I was hoping to get a guitar in the near future. The conversation moved on and I thought nothing of it. The next day I received an email from one of my friends who was there and she mentioned she too wanted to get back to the guitar and suggested we get together a few times a month to practice and learn together. She even has a guitar I can use!

In the past when I have thought about learning the guitar I have often thought of the pain of developing calluses and this has probably contributed to my lack of motivation in pursuing it further. This time when these thoughts started creeping into my consciousness I decided to look into how others have dealt with this in the past. Not surprisingly, many others have had the same complaint but others still have found solutions. I made a commitment today to try at least trying one of the suggested techniques for expediting the process of developing calluses, and with that I am on my way.

So, I have taken MEsteps towards my Creativity, Fun and Relationships buckets with this action. My MEfurbishment is moving ahead at full speed!

Peace,

Leslie

One Comment to “Guitar Here I Come”

  1. This is precisely what i was seeking. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

