Are You A Tree-Hugger Too?

A Tree-Hugger and a Vegan

It’s partly the gift cards that I have received and partly the free wireless I use for blog posting.  I do stop by the local Starbucks most days during the week and the service, I must admit, is for the most part stellar.  They know my order well, Venti Pike for here, in a mug and a Venti Water for here, in a glass. Depending on who is working it can be delivered with smiles, rolling eyes or complete animosity.

This morning I came in to Starbucks for a coffee and some free wireless. They knew the order well and just verified that I wanted the same as normal.

“Sure that would be great; I will also have a fruit and grain bar” (the only vegan option on the Starbucks menu).

“I suppose you would like that on a plate too,” the Barista says sarcastically.

“Yes please”

“So are you a Tree-Hugger too, as well as a Vegan?”

“I do care about the environment that we live in, if that’s what you’re asking.”

As she kind of hmmmf-ed and gathered my order, the manager, nervously standing in earshot says, “The thing I love about Cindy* is that she has no self-edit…he-he.”

This is same Barista who told me asking for my oatmeal in a mug was a pain in the ass.  “You should try to wash oatmeal out of a mug!” I do, frequently. Have you heard of the universal solvent, it’s called water! Work’s wonders! It really shouldn’t be this difficult to give crap. No wonder I feel more at home at Bridgehead. I just wish there was one closer to home. I can’t justify using several dollars in gas and creating additional pollution to have a compostable cup and a little respect.

Starbucks is a large concern in reality. According to an article at sustainabilityissexy.coma report conducted jointly by the Alliance for Environmental Innovation and Starbucks found that 1.9 billion cups were used by Starbucks in 2000. In 2006, Starbucks reported that this figure had grown to 2.3 billion cups for use at their stores.”  That’s a lot of cups, and a lot waste, and a lot less trees.” So yeah, I guess I am a tree-hugger.

Bring a Mug!

I’m not perfect, I frequently forget my travel mug when I am out and about and end up getting a coffee in a paper cup. This usually brings a certain amount of guilt and mental gymnastics with it and I have decided that it’s really not worth the grief. I proclaim today that I will do my best to bring my travel mug with me in the car or forgo the coffee altogether.

I’d say that’s a pebble in the Environment bucket. Thanks for nudge Cindy.*

Check out MEmusic for a great post inspired song by Rush. The Trees has always been one of my favourites.

Peace,

Leslie

*The name of the Barista in question has been changed to protect the integrity of my future coffees.
2 Comments to “Are You A Tree-Hugger Too?”

  1. Please don’t go beating yourself up over forgetting your mug every now and again – think of what you’re already doing for the planet just by what you’re choosing to put on your plate every day! 🙂

    From chooseveg.com:

    Becoming vegetarian is one of the most important and effective actions you can take to ease the strain on our Earth’s limited resources, protect the planet from pollution, prevent global warming, and save countless species from extinction.

    http://www.peta.org/issues/animals-used-for-food/global-warming.aspx

Leave a Reply

