What The Bleep Am I Eating? Part I

It’s Killing Me

I watched a very interesting documentary last night called The Beautiful Truth. It explores the power of food and its ability to heal, through the eyes of a 15 year old boy. He researches the findings of Dr. Max Gerson who wrote about the ability of our food choices to prevent and cure disease. When watching a film of this type my modus operandi is to take everything with a grain of salt since it is clearly just one perspective. At the same time it is important for me to have an open mind.

A large part of the reason I became Vegan is because of the fact that many of the foods I had been eating my whole life were slowly killing me.  I hesitate to say the foods we eat; I realize we all make the best choices we can for ourselves. There is a great deal of research proving that processed foods are bad for me. This is the nugget that I took out of The Beautiful Truth – a reminder really.

I have taken great strides in the health MEbucket over the last year but this is a work in progress. When it comes to my health, I can’t afford to rest on my laurels. The commitment that I will make today is that I will no longer make a food choice that has ingredients that I am not educated on. I am not saying that I will not eat any particular foods; what I am saying is that I need to know what it is before I put it in my mouth. If I read a label and there is an ingredient that I have not heard of, I do not eat the product. I can make a note of the ingredient, do some research, and then decide from an informed perspective what I will do moving forward. Let me give you an example.

I will no longer make a food choice that has ingredients that I am not educated on.

Occasionally, I like to sprinkle Kellogg’s All-Bran on some other breakfast item I am having, just to top of the fibre content. I actually prefer Fibre 1 but for the purposes of this example I will use All-Bran. The ingredients listed on the box read as follows:

WHEAT BRAN, SUGAR, HIGH FRUCTOSE CORN SYRUP, MALT FLAVORING, CALCIUM PHOSPHATE, CALCIUM CARBONATE, SALT, SODIUM ASCORBATE AND ASCORBIC ACID (VITAMIN C), REDUCED IRON, NIACINAMIDE, PYRIDOXINE HYDROCHLORIDE (VITAMIN B6), RIBOFLAVIN (VITAMIN B2), FOLIC ACID, THIAMIN HYDROCHLORIDE (VITAMIN B1), VITAMIN A PALMITATE, VITAMIN B12 AND VITAMIN D.

Out of this list there are a few items that would fall into my list of unknowns:

  • MALT FLAVORING
  • CALCIUM PHOSPHATE
  • CALCIUM CARBONATE
  • ASCORBATE AND ASCORBIC ACID
  • REDUCED IRON
  • NIACINAMIDE
  • PYRIDOXINE HYDROCHLORIDE
  • RIBOFLAVIN
  • FOLIC ACID
  • THIAMIN HYDROCHLORIDE
  • VITAMIN A PALMITATE
  • VITAMIN B12
  • VITAMIN D

This list was surprising to me for two reasons. First is that I don’t remember the list of ingredients in All-Bran being that long! I think I am not alone when I say I have a secret pastime of reading cereal boxes while I am eating its contents. The other thing that was surprising to me about this list is that while I recognize a few of the items on this list as vitamins and minerals, I have no idea whatsoever how they are sourced or from what they are derived. I am not aware of any organic B-12 farms with rows and rows of bountiful B-12 plants, being harvested by smiling well cared for employees.

What is it? Where does it come from? What the bleep am I eating? In the days ahead I will explore the answers to these questions through the pages of MEfurbish. You can read What The Bleep Am I Eating? Part II here.

Peace,

Leslie

2 Comments to “What The Bleep Am I Eating? Part I”

  1. this is hilarious! but SO true!! thanks for opening my eyes- will be more aware from now on

  2. I thought the ingredients of All-Bran were as follows:

    bran

Leave a Reply

