Voting With Head Or Heart

What To Do?

I have never been a big fan of politics; it’s just too…political for my liking. It is however a necessary evil, and if I want my country to be run in a way that matches my values, I need to do everything I can to help put the right person, or party really, at the helm. This is where things get muddy though for me.

It’s no secret that I support the Green Party. Once you are done giggling we can get back to the point. I have no interest in debating which party should run our country with you; I just told you I don’t like politics. The real question I am trying to answer prior to voting is do I vote for the party I support or do I vote with a strategy that will impact who what party will actually be in power. This is a real dilemma for me.

What I really want is both. I want to be able to walk into the voting booth and put an X beside who I want to win, and another X beside who I am voting for.  Let’s face it, putting an X beside my Green Party candidate is a waste of my time. I know I can support my party in many other ways when not at times of election, donation, canvassing, and even sharing ideals and values like I do through MEfurbish. Now that it is actually time to vote, I can’t think of a good reason to vote for my party. I am sure some political genius could explain to me the pros and cons of each, but I am not sure that is really what I am looking for in the end.

If you had this same dilemma and have come to some sort of resolution, I would love to hear from you!

Peace,

Leslie

4 Comments to “Voting With Head Or Heart”

  1. I spent a whole dinner hour last week explaining to my munchkin what ‘strategic voting’ is. I’m with you, I wish I had two votes!

  2. Strategic voting is very common, however this hurts the party you really care about. While it’s true that the Green Party likely will not win a single seat (yet again), your vote counts. First of all, you could look at your vote as being two votes really. Say you do decide to vote Green. That’s 1 vote for them and -1 vote for someone else. Keep in mind that every party , if qualified, receives funding according to how many votes they receive so your vote has a monetary value. Also, the popular vote is in my opinion the truest indication of party support. Here are a few interesting facts:
    “The party broke 1% of the popular vote in the 2004 federal election, when it received 4.3% and qualified for federal funding. Its support has ranged between 3.1% and 14% since the 2006 federal election. In the 2008 federal election, the Green Party of Canada was invited to the debates for the first time and achieved a high mark of 6.8% of the popular vote. With just under a million votes, it was the only federally-funded party to receive more votes than in 2006, but it still failed to win any seats.”
    How can this upward trend continue if you don’t vote for them? One day, they just might sit in parliament, if people like yourself really want it.
    My two cents.

  3. Nicely said, Antoine. 🙂

Leave a Reply

