Swim Day 1

Can You Say Lap Pool

Wow what a busy couple of weeks! I can’t believe it’s been almost a week since I last posted. It feels like so much has happened on my road to MEfurbishment. This week I took a huge step forward in my bucket for physical health with the start of my new swimming practice.

With the overwhelming response I received to my ad to use a pool in exchange for cleaning it, I met a great family just 15 minutes from my home. They have a wonderful 60 foot indoor lap pool which was a great way to get back into the water after years of avoiding the deck of a pool like the plague.

I swam for the first time after doing my allotted service of vacuuming the pool. What a treat! It was so great to be back in the water. I am going to track my progress on what else, another tab called MElaps.

Don’t Try This At Home

To start I did some warming up by just walking the length of the pool and back a few times, then I started my laps. I was pretty discombobulated at first, flopping around like a fish on a hook, but gradually I found my stride and settled on what used to me my favourite stroke, the breast stroke.  I ended up doing 20 laps total for a swim time of almost 20:00. It was a totally different experience for me than other types of exercise that I have undertaken. The nice cool water made me feel like I could go forever! Thankfully I listened to my intuition and stopped exercising after the 20 minutes and just goofed around for a bit after that because using those muscles to that extent had me pretty stiff the next day.

I am cautiously optimistic that I will be able to continue to keep a consistent swimming practice as a form of fun and pain minimizing exercise.  Keep your fingers crossed!

Hey check me my new favourite pool out below!

Peace,

Leslie

One Comment to “Swim Day 1”

Leave a Reply

