Gratitude Attitude

In One Ear

We’ve all heard it before, how important it is to have an attitude of gratitude. It’s one of many slogans and quotations that tend to resonate with us for the moment, and then dissipate quickly.  For me this has a lot to do with practicality. When we hear things like this they usually make us feel a certain way but they do not necessarily produce action of any kind.

How can we take a concept like this that we want to embrace and take steps to incorporate the ideals into our daily reality? There is no easy answer to this question except to say that with each, we need to stop for a moment or two of reflection and determine a practical course of action.  Being grateful for what I have in my life has been something that has eluded me in the past. Not because I am not grateful for these things but because I tend to put more focus, more effort and more resources into what I don’t have.

Gratitude List

The idea here is to just give the things that we have to be grateful for room to sit with us, an equal share of real estate in our brains or in our day. To that end, a tool that I try to use as frequently as possible is to create a gratitude list. While this may seem trivial or silly, those of us who have subscribed to the idea can say without a doubt that it makes a considerable difference in our happiness and ability to live in the moment.

This morning as I was listening to a follow-up interview that I did with Hallie Cotnam on CBC Radio One I was overcome with gratitude for the situation that I find myself in. I needed help, I asked for it, I received it in overwhelming quantity and I am now reaping the rewards of putting myself out there. So it goes without saying that when I was writing gratitude list this morning, all those who continue to offer love and support we featured prominently including Amy and Erik, the down to earth couple who have opened their home and their pool to me.

Thank you Amy and Erik!

If you would like to hear the follow-up interview, you can click on the play button below. The original post and initial full interview can be found in my recent post called The Universe Came Through.

Take a few minutes before bed tonight or when you rise in the morning to think about how much you have to be grateful for. I am sure you will surprise yourself, no matter how bad you think things are in your daily grind, as you write you may even notice a little smile or a lower heart rate. Its well worth the five minutes that it takes, trust me.

Peace,

Leslie

2 Comments to “Gratitude Attitude”

  1. Amen to that. And let me just say…I am grateful there are awesome folks like YOU in this world! 🙂

Leave a Reply

